For first-timers · Updated August 2026
The best GLP-1 to start with, if it's your first.
The first GLP-1 is the one where a good program earns its keep — gentle titration, a real person to text when the nausea hits, and a price that isn't a puzzle while you're still learning what any of this means. We ranked the field for exactly that.
The short answer
For a first-timer, CoreAge Rx is the easiest place to land at 94/100: nothing to decode, a flat price, and support that follows you up the dose ladder. If you want more hand-holding, Pallas Health offers the most coaching of the partners we work with. Every pick is scored on the same six-factor rubric.
The ranking
25 providers, ordered by this board's own metric. Providers we work with are listed first. The Editors’ Rating is printed on every row so you can check it.
- #1
CoreAge Rx
Best for first-timersThe one program on this masthead whose number still makes sense at the top of the dose. A flat, all-in monthly price on both molecules, no teaser rate to expire, and a cancel button you can actually find — the closest thing to a family-budget guarantee we've reviewed.
- Semaglutide:
- $99/mo
- Tirzepatide:
- $149/mo
- States:
- All 50 states
- Brand-name:
- Compounded only
- #2
Gala Health
A flat $179 for either molecule and a genuinely gentle microdosing tier — a reasonable, all-doses-included option, if you can live with a yearly plan and a pharmacy the marketing never names.
- Semaglutide:
- $179/mo
- Tirzepatide:
- $179/mo
- States:
- All 50 states (as advertised)
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #3
Enhance MD
One of the better-disclosed cash compounders we've reviewed for mothers — a named medical director, named pharmacies and real Quest lab work behind flat-per-dose pricing. The catch is that the low headline number you'll see quoted is the 12-month prepay rate, not the month-to-month price.
- Semaglutide:
- $249/mo with no commitment ($212/mo on the 12-month plan)
- Tirzepatide:
- $329/mo with no commitment ($280/mo on the 12-month plan)
- States:
- 40 states + DC (not AL, AR, GA, HI, LA, MS, MO, ND, SC, TN)
- Brand-name:
- Compounded only
- #4
Willow
A women's-health company by contract, not just by campaign — it names its pharmacies, names its physicians, and prints both prices before the quiz. Then the dose ladder disappears behind the intake and the refund policy changes depending which of its own pages you read.
- Semaglutide:
- From $299/mo
- Tirzepatide:
- From $399/mo
- States:
- 36 states (Willow's own list)
- Brand-name:
- Compounded only
- #5
Sesame
A high-trust telehealth marketplace that took a clear side: FDA-approved brand GLP-1 only, no compounded shortcut. You pay a brand cash price and book a real video visit — but you get on-label pens and one of the cleaner reputations on this masthead.
- Semaglutide:
- $149/mo (brand)
- Tirzepatide:
- Not disclosed
- States:
- All 50 states
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #6
Found
The rare program that will write you either a compounded vial or an FDA-approved pen and bill the visit through your insurance, holding one price at every dose. The catch is the calendar: the cheap headline needs a year paid upfront, and every refill needs a video call.
- Semaglutide:
- $299/mo
- Tirzepatide:
- $299/mo
- States:
- Not disclosed — no published state list
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #7
Trimi Health
The budget line on this masthead, and an honest one: some of the lowest flat, all-dose compounded pricing we track — provided you read the annual-prepay footnote before the headline number seduces you.
- Semaglutide:
- $175/mo
- Tirzepatide:
- $235/mo
- States:
- All 50 states
- Brand-name:
- Compounded only
- #8
Pallas Health
Most coachingPallas Health is a rare thing in this category: a platform that sells both the inexpensive compounded route and the genuine FDA-approved pens, and is straightforward about the price of each. Compounded semaglutide averages about $199 a month and tirzepatide $299, while brand Zepbound is $1,069, Ozempic $1,299, and Wegovy and Mounjaro $1,349 each, all cash-pay. Its own FAQ answers the question that matters most on a titration schedule — does the price rise with the dose — with a flat no, and the clinician, dose adjustments, check-ins and messaging are all inside the plan price with no membership fee. Three separate claims held up under independent checking: two named clinicians are active in the federal NPI registry, the LegitScript seal returns a live image where an invented ID returns an error, and no FDA warning letter is attributable to the company. The reservations are specific rather than sweeping — billing lands every 12 weeks in $597 and $897 blocks rather than monthly, the compounding pharmacy is never named, and insurance is not billed at all.
- Semaglutide:
- $199/mo
- Tirzepatide:
- $299/mo
- States:
- All 50 states + D.C. (async in 43)
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #9
Allara Health
A women's-condition clinic that happens to prescribe GLP-1s, rather than a weight-loss program wearing a women's-health skin — an OBGYN and a dietitian on every case, real labs, and an every-other-week check-in for a flat $149 with no commitment. The drug is not in that number, and Allara writes brand pens only.
- Semaglutide:
- Wegovy or Ozempic — cost set by your insurance
- Tirzepatide:
- Zepbound or Mounjaro — cost set by your insurance
- States:
- 45 states + DC (nutrition-only in 5 more)
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #10
WeightWatchers Clinic
The one program on this masthead that treats menopause and the postpartum year as clinical facts rather than marketing, wrapped around brand-name pens and an insurance coordinator who makes the calls. Then it sells you a year you cannot leave.
- Semaglutide:
- Wegovy — cost set by your insurance
- Tirzepatide:
- Zepbound — cost set by your insurance
- States:
- Not disclosed
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #11
Hims & Hers
⛔ FDA warning letters dated 9 September 2025, over the compounded-semaglutide business it has since left behind. Through the Hers front door, a mass-market brand now selling FDA-approved brand-name GLP-1s — Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic — instead of the compounded semaglutide it used to. The posted price is only half the bill: a required $149/mo membership sits on top of whatever the medication costs, so the real monthly number is roughly double what the landing page shows.
- Semaglutide:
- $149/mo Wegovy Pill + $149/mo membership (~$298/mo all-in)
- Tirzepatide:
- $299/mo Zepbound + $149/mo membership (~$448/mo all-in)
- States:
- All 50 states
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #12
LifeMD
A nationwide, physician-led program that has shifted from compounded to brand-name medication now that the FDA shortage exemption has ended — a disclosed $149/mo membership plus a separately billed drug cost, honest about the shift even where the number is bigger than it used to look.
- Semaglutide:
- $149/mo membership + $199+/mo brand medication (compounded phased out)
- Tirzepatide:
- $149/mo membership + $349+/mo brand medication
- States:
- All 50 states
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #13
Ro
The best-funded option on the board: real brand-name Wegovy and Zepbound access, a dedicated insurance concierge, and an app that rarely breaks — with the catch that the membership fee and the medication cost are always two separate charges, and it doesn't say whether check-ins are video or async.
- Semaglutide:
- $39 first mo, then $74–149/mo membership + medication billed separately
- Tirzepatide:
- $39 first mo, then $74–149/mo membership + medication billed separately
- States:
- Multi-state
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #14
Form Health
The closest thing on this masthead to an actual obesity-medicine clinic online — a board-certified physician and a registered dietitian on your case, monthly video visits, and a real effort to run treatment through your insurance. The $299 self-pay fee is for that care team, not the medication.
- Semaglutide:
- $299/mo self-pay membership (medication billed separately)
- Tirzepatide:
- $299/mo self-pay membership (medication billed separately)
- States:
- Multi-state
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #15
OnlyRx
One of the only programs on this roster offering both molecules as an injection AND a needle-free oral tablet, in all 50 states — but its $179/mo semaglutide headline is a stated summer promo, not a locked-in rate, and its "15-22% weight loss" claim is self-reported customer data, not a clinical trial.
- Semaglutide:
- $179/mo
- Tirzepatide:
- $249/mo
- States:
- All 50 states
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #16
Calibrate
A year-long metabolic program that treats the medication as one lever and intensive human coaching as the other — a disclosed $199/mo membership with a 3-month minimum, a real 20-minute video visit, and insurance doing most of the work on the medication itself.
- Semaglutide:
- $199/mo membership (3-mo minimum) + ~$25/mo medication copay after insurance
- Tirzepatide:
- $199/mo membership (3-mo minimum) + ~$25/mo medication copay after insurance
- States:
- Multi-state
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #17
WePeptideRx
Starts at $189/mo for semaglutide or $199/mo for tirzepatide and scales up with your dose to $299–$389/mo at the top tier — confirmed directly from the site's own pricing and state-coverage data (48 states, all but AL and MS), with a genuinely fee-free cancel-anytime policy.
- Semaglutide:
- $189/mo
- Tirzepatide:
- $199/mo
- States:
- 48 states (all except AL and MS)
- Brand-name:
- Compounded only
- #18
Mochi Health
The rare compounded program that names its doctors and puts a real 30-minute video visit in front of the prescription — and then prices itself in two pieces, so the $99 on the front page is a little over half what leaves your account.
- Semaglutide:
- $178/mo all-in
- Tirzepatide:
- $278/mo all-in
- States:
- All 50 states
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #19
9amHealth
A cardiometabolic telehealth platform — diabetes and weight management together — charging one flat $149/mo membership (or free with insurance) that bundles specialist visits, FDA-approved brand GLP-1s (Wegovy, Zepbound, Saxenda), labs, devices and coaching into a single price, though it publishes no state list and its own branding leans more toward diabetes than weight loss.
- Semaglutide:
- $149/mo (or free with insurance)
- Tirzepatide:
- $149/mo (or free with insurance)
- States:
- Not disclosed — no published state list
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #20
Bodi Envi
Founded by named former clinic owners, with no consultation or membership fees, 24/7 messaging and Zofran offered proactively for nausea — but its loud $99/$135 intro price is a countdown-timer promo, the real standing rate is $179/$249/mo, and only its pharmacy's licensing (not Bodi Envi's own) is confirmed in all 50 states.
- Semaglutide:
- $179/mo
- Tirzepatide:
- $249/mo
- States:
- Not disclosed — no published state list (its pharmacy, VialsRx, is licensed in all 50 states, which is not the same as Bodi Envi confirming its own service area)
- Brand-name:
- Compounded only
- #21
Heros Health
One flat $199/mo program price for either molecule after a $149 first month, board-certified physicians, FDA-registered 503A pharmacies, and a genuinely strong 100%-refund-if-not-approved-plus-90-day-guarantee policy — though it doesn't publish a state list or split its price by molecule.
- Semaglutide:
- $199/mo
- Tirzepatide:
- $199/mo
- States:
- Not disclosed — no published state list
- Brand-name:
- Compounded only
- #22
Elara Health and Wellness
$183/mo semaglutide or $268/mo tirzepatide, with quarterly labs and coaching genuinely bundled into that price and four named compounding pharmacies — one of the better-documented options reviewed, though pricier than the rock-bottom tiers unless a family commits to the annual plan.
- Semaglutide:
- $183/mo
- Tirzepatide:
- $268/mo
- States:
- All 50 states + DC
- Brand-name:
- Compounded only
- #23
Nurx
The women's-health platform a lot of mothers already have an account with, extended to weight management — and priced as care rather than medication. The $79-plus-$79 is honest and modest; the four-figure retail pen it does not include is not.
- Semaglutide:
- Not disclosed
- Tirzepatide:
- Not disclosed
- States:
- Not disclosed — 'not offered in every state'
- Brand-name:
- Yes
- #24
PCOS Sisters
A nurse-practitioner practice built entirely around PCOS, by clinicians who say they have it — unlimited video visits, unlimited messaging, and a genuine specialism most weight-loss telehealth cannot fake. Then it prices the medication apart from the membership you cannot buy it without, and never mentions pregnancy at all.
- Semaglutide:
- Semaglutide (the active ingredient in Wegovy and Ozempic)
- Tirzepatide:
- Tirzepatide — no price published
- States:
- 12 states (its own pages disagree)
- Brand-name:
- Compounded only
- #25
Gaya Wellness
A women's practice that treats weight as a hormone problem — a genuinely different starting point — with a price ladder that rewards reading closely. The $149 tier is "GLP-1 Access": physician oversight, medication not included. Premium at $349 is the one that includes it. Concierge at $549 adds hormone therapy for women whose weight and menopause symptoms need handling together. A named physician, Dr. Patel, runs it from a published Florida address.
- Semaglutide:
- $349/mo on the tier that includes medication
- Tirzepatide:
- $349/mo on the tier that includes medication
- States:
- Not published; a Winter Garden, Florida practice offering virtual care
- Brand-name:
- Compounded only
At a glance
| # | Provider | Semaglutide | Tirzepatide | States | Editors' Rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | CoreAge Rx | $99/mo | $149/mo | All 50 states | 94 · A |
| 2 | Gala Health | $179/mo | $179/mo | All 50 states (as advertised) | 82 · B− |
| 3 | Enhance MD | $249/mo with no commitment ($212/mo on the 12-month plan) | $329/mo with no commitment ($280/mo on the 12-month plan) | 40 states + DC (not AL, AR, GA, HI, LA, MS, MO, ND, SC, TN) | 80 · B− |
| 4 | Willow | From $299/mo | From $399/mo | 36 states (Willow's own list) | 71 · C |
| 5 | Sesame | $149/mo (brand) | Not disclosed | All 50 states | 81 · B− |
| 6 | Found | $299/mo | $299/mo | Not disclosed — no published state list | 76 · C |
| 7 | Trimi Health | $175/mo | $235/mo | All 50 states | 81 · B− |
| 8 | Pallas Health | $199/mo | $299/mo | All 50 states + D.C. (async in 43) | 78 · C |
| 9 | Allara Health | Wegovy or Ozempic — cost set by your insurance | Zepbound or Mounjaro — cost set by your insurance | 45 states + DC (nutrition-only in 5 more) | 83 · B |
| 10 | WeightWatchers Clinic | Wegovy — cost set by your insurance | Zepbound — cost set by your insurance | Not disclosed | 77 · C |
| 11 | Hims & Hers | $149/mo Wegovy Pill + $149/mo membership (~$298/mo all-in) | $299/mo Zepbound + $149/mo membership (~$448/mo all-in) | All 50 states | 76 · C |
| 12 | LifeMD | $149/mo membership + $199+/mo brand medication (compounded phased out) | $149/mo membership + $349+/mo brand medication | All 50 states | 80 · B− |
| 13 | Ro | $39 first mo, then $74–149/mo membership + medication billed separately | $39 first mo, then $74–149/mo membership + medication billed separately | Multi-state | 80 · B− |
| 14 | Form Health | $299/mo self-pay membership (medication billed separately) | $299/mo self-pay membership (medication billed separately) | Multi-state | 81 · B− |
| 15 | OnlyRx | $179/mo | $249/mo | All 50 states | 70 · C |
| 16 | Calibrate | $199/mo membership (3-mo minimum) + ~$25/mo medication copay after insurance | $199/mo membership (3-mo minimum) + ~$25/mo medication copay after insurance | Multi-state | 79 · C |
| 17 | WePeptideRx | $189/mo | $199/mo | 48 states (all except AL and MS) | 78 · C |
| 18 | Mochi Health | $178/mo all-in | $278/mo all-in | All 50 states | 77 · C |
| 19 | 9amHealth | $149/mo (or free with insurance) | $149/mo (or free with insurance) | Not disclosed — no published state list | 76 · C |
| 20 | Bodi Envi | $179/mo | $249/mo | Not disclosed — no published state list (its pharmacy, VialsRx, is licensed in all 50 states, which is not the same as Bodi Envi confirming its own service area) | 66 · C |
| 21 | Heros Health | $199/mo | $199/mo | Not disclosed — no published state list | 74 · C |
| 22 | Elara Health and Wellness | $183/mo | $268/mo | All 50 states + DC | 72 · C |
| 23 | Nurx | Not disclosed | Not disclosed | Not disclosed — 'not offered in every state' | 70 · C |
| 24 | PCOS Sisters | Semaglutide (the active ingredient in Wegovy and Ozempic) | Tirzepatide — no price published | 12 states (its own pages disagree) | 69 · C |
| 25 | Gaya Wellness | $349/mo on the tier that includes medication | $349/mo on the tier that includes medication | Not published; a Winter Garden, Florida practice offering virtual care | 57 · C |
Answered
- What is the best GLP-1 provider for a first-timer?
- CoreAge Rx leads our beginner board at 94/100 — a flat, all-in price with no surprises to decode while you're learning the ropes, plus support that stays with you as the dose climbs. If you want the most coaching, Pallas Health is the most hand-holding of the rest.
- What should I expect in the first month on a GLP-1?
- You start at the lowest dose and titrate up slowly, usually monthly, to limit nausea. Early side effects are mostly gastrointestinal — nausea, constipation, reflux — and tend to ease as your body adjusts. A good beginner program checks in during this window and helps you manage it rather than leaving you to guess.
- I'm scared of needles — is there an easier way to start?
- The injections use a very fine, short needle and most first-timers find them far easier than expected. Some providers also offer oral or sublingual routes, which can be a gentler on-ramp. Either way, look for a program that walks you through your first dose rather than shipping a pen and wishing you luck.
- Do I need lab work before starting?
- Reputable programs review your history and often baseline labs before prescribing, and they should ask about thyroid history, pregnancy plans and contraception. If a provider will prescribe with almost no questions, treat that as a warning sign, not convenience.
Before your first dose, read what to tell your OB and the true cost as the dose climbs. Comparing on price alone? See the cheapest GLP-1 without insurance, or the full 2026 guide for moms. This page is informational, not medical advice; compounded medications are not FDA-approved brand products.
Keep exploring
Other ranked boards for mothers
Every board is scored the same way — CoreAge Rx first on the Editors' Rating — for a different mother's situation.
- The 2026 guide to the best GLP-1 for momsThe flagship feature — every provider weighed for the way a mother actually lives, with CoreAge Rx first.See the ranking →
- Best GLP-1 for women — PCOS & menopauseWhen insulin resistance or the midlife shift is driving the weight, tirzepatide access and real oversight matter most.See the ranking →
- Cheapest GLP-1 without insuranceThe lowest honest cash-pay price that still holds at the maintenance dose — teasers ignored, family budget respected.See the ranking →
- Best GLP-1 after baby — postpartum providers rankedThe months after a birth are the least studied and the most asked about — ranked on FDA-approved medication and a clinician who will discuss the timing.See the ranking →
- Best GLP-1 with insurance & coverage helpWhen you might have coverage, a brand pen can beat a cheap vial — ranked on who fights the paperwork for you.See the ranking →