Skip to content
MMetabolicMomsTHE MAGAZINE FOR MOTHERS ON GLP-1
Menu

After birth · Ranked on oversight · Updated August 2026

The best GLP-1 after baby, and the timing nobody will promise you.

The months after a birth are the ones where a GLP-1 is most often asked about and least often studied. This board ranks only providers that can prescribe the FDA-approved medication — the version with pregnancy and lactation labeling your OB can actually read — and that put a clinician rather than a form in front of the prescription.

The short answer

Start with the timing, not the vendor. There is no approved postpartum start date, GLP-1s are not for use in pregnancy or while trying to conceive, and the breastfeeding evidence is thin rather than reassuring — our reporting on what the postpartum data actually says lays out where the gaps are. Any provider offering you certainty on that is selling.

Of the 310 providers we score, 25 both offer FDA-approved medication and clear our clinical-oversight bar. Sesame leads at 81/100. Price is deliberately not the ranking factor here — if it is your binding constraint, the cash-pay board is the honest place to start instead.

The ranking

25 providers, ordered by this board's own metric. Providers we work with are listed first. The Editors’ Rating is printed on every row so you can check it.

  1. #1

    Sesame

    Best postpartum care

    A high-trust telehealth marketplace that took a clear side: FDA-approved brand GLP-1 only, no compounded shortcut. You pay a brand cash price and book a real video visit — but you get on-label pens and one of the cleaner reputations on this masthead.

    Semaglutide:
    $149/mo (brand)
    Tirzepatide:
    Not disclosed
    States:
    All 50 states
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  2. #2

    Pallas Health

    Pallas Health is a rare thing in this category: a platform that sells both the inexpensive compounded route and the genuine FDA-approved pens, and is straightforward about the price of each. Compounded semaglutide averages about $199 a month and tirzepatide $299, while brand Zepbound is $1,069, Ozempic $1,299, and Wegovy and Mounjaro $1,349 each, all cash-pay. Its own FAQ answers the question that matters most on a titration schedule — does the price rise with the dose — with a flat no, and the clinician, dose adjustments, check-ins and messaging are all inside the plan price with no membership fee. Three separate claims held up under independent checking: two named clinicians are active in the federal NPI registry, the LegitScript seal returns a live image where an invented ID returns an error, and no FDA warning letter is attributable to the company. The reservations are specific rather than sweeping — billing lands every 12 weeks in $597 and $897 blocks rather than monthly, the compounding pharmacy is never named, and insurance is not billed at all.

    Semaglutide:
    $199/mo
    Tirzepatide:
    $299/mo
    States:
    All 50 states + D.C. (async in 43)
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  3. #3

    Found

    The rare program that will write you either a compounded vial or an FDA-approved pen and bill the visit through your insurance, holding one price at every dose. The catch is the calendar: the cheap headline needs a year paid upfront, and every refill needs a video call.

    Semaglutide:
    $299/mo
    Tirzepatide:
    $299/mo
    States:
    Not disclosed — no published state list
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  4. #4

    Gala Health

    A flat $179 for either molecule and a genuinely gentle microdosing tier — a reasonable, all-doses-included option, if you can live with a yearly plan and a pharmacy the marketing never names.

    Semaglutide:
    $179/mo
    Tirzepatide:
    $179/mo
    States:
    All 50 states (as advertised)
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  5. #5

    RxSpan MD

    RxSpan MD is a genuinely well-disclosed service wrapped in marketing that undercuts it. The disclosure: four compounding pharmacies named with phone numbers, two lead physicians named with NPI numbers that verify as active MDs, flat pricing posted before any intake, both compounded and real FDA-approved brand GLP-1s on one platform, and oral capsules for anyone who won't inject. Compounded semaglutide is $249 a month and tirzepatide $329, with brand Zepbound at $1,069, Ozempic at $1,299 and Wegovy at $1,349. The marketing is the problem. Its testimonials still name a different company — one patient describes what she 'expected from CareGLP' — and the doctors quoted in them are not the clinicians the same page names as its medical team. The homepage is built around a board-certified plastic surgeon who founded the practice but is licensed in California only and isn't the prescriber. Its compounded prices also sit above the roster median, and the oral capsules cost the same or more than the injections.

    Semaglutide:
    $249/mo
    Tirzepatide:
    $329/mo
    States:
    All 50 states (as advertised)
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  6. #6

    Luvo Health

    Luvo Health is the rare provider that publishes its whole price list — every program, every plan length — before asking you for anything, and then sells almost everything: semaglutide as an injection at $249 or tablets at $279, tirzepatide at $339, a genuine low-dose microdosing tier at $179 for either molecule, and real FDA-approved Ozempic and Zepbound at $1,299 and $1,399 for anyone who wants the on-label product. Twelve-week plans bring the injections down to about $219 and $309 a month. Its LegitScript certification is real — the seal ID returns a live image where an invented one errors — and it commits to not charging you if a clinician decides you aren't eligible. Two things hold it back. It never names the pharmacy that compounds any of this, which is a step behind the providers that do. And its own affiliate program is registered as a peptides and longevity offer that lands on a NAD+ and sermorelin page by default, so the weight-loss side of the business is the part it markets least.

    Semaglutide:
    $249/mo
    Tirzepatide:
    $339/mo
    States:
    50 states (as advertised)
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  7. #7

    Allara Health

    Strongest clinical oversight

    A women's-condition clinic that happens to prescribe GLP-1s, rather than a weight-loss program wearing a women's-health skin — an OBGYN and a dietitian on every case, real labs, and an every-other-week check-in for a flat $149 with no commitment. The drug is not in that number, and Allara writes brand pens only.

    Semaglutide:
    Wegovy or Ozempic — cost set by your insurance
    Tirzepatide:
    Zepbound or Mounjaro — cost set by your insurance
    States:
    45 states + DC (nutrition-only in 5 more)
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  8. #8

    Form Health

    The closest thing on this masthead to an actual obesity-medicine clinic online — a board-certified physician and a registered dietitian on your case, monthly video visits, and a real effort to run treatment through your insurance. The $299 self-pay fee is for that care team, not the medication.

    Semaglutide:
    $299/mo self-pay membership (medication billed separately)
    Tirzepatide:
    $299/mo self-pay membership (medication billed separately)
    States:
    Multi-state
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  9. #9

    9amHealth

    A cardiometabolic telehealth platform — diabetes and weight management together — charging one flat $149/mo membership (or free with insurance) that bundles specialist visits, FDA-approved brand GLP-1s (Wegovy, Zepbound, Saxenda), labs, devices and coaching into a single price, though it publishes no state list and its own branding leans more toward diabetes than weight loss.

    Semaglutide:
    $149/mo (or free with insurance)
    Tirzepatide:
    $149/mo (or free with insurance)
    States:
    Not disclosed — no published state list
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  10. #10

    Ro

    The best-funded option on the board: real brand-name Wegovy and Zepbound access, a dedicated insurance concierge, and an app that rarely breaks — with the catch that the membership fee and the medication cost are always two separate charges, and it doesn't say whether check-ins are video or async.

    Semaglutide:
    $39 first mo, then $74–149/mo membership + medication billed separately
    Tirzepatide:
    $39 first mo, then $74–149/mo membership + medication billed separately
    States:
    Multi-state
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  11. #11

    Calibrate

    A year-long metabolic program that treats the medication as one lever and intensive human coaching as the other — a disclosed $199/mo membership with a 3-month minimum, a real 20-minute video visit, and insurance doing most of the work on the medication itself.

    Semaglutide:
    $199/mo membership (3-mo minimum) + ~$25/mo medication copay after insurance
    Tirzepatide:
    $199/mo membership (3-mo minimum) + ~$25/mo medication copay after insurance
    States:
    Multi-state
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  12. #12

    Rivas Medical Weight Loss

    Every other seller on this page quotes a month. This one quotes a week, and the difference is enormous: $115 a week is about $500 a month, three or four times the telehealth rate. It is also a different thing entirely. That price is all-inclusive and buys a weekly in-person appointment with a provider, vitals and a weigh-in, fifty-two times a year, at one of fifteen clinics in Maryland and Virginia.

    Semaglutide:
    $500/mo — $115 a week, all-inclusive with a weekly in-person visit
    Tirzepatide:
    $717/mo — $165 a week on the same terms
    States:
    Fifteen locations across Maryland and Virginia
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  13. #13

    LifeMD

    A nationwide, physician-led program that has shifted from compounded to brand-name medication now that the FDA shortage exemption has ended — a disclosed $149/mo membership plus a separately billed drug cost, honest about the shift even where the number is bigger than it used to look.

    Semaglutide:
    $149/mo membership + $199+/mo brand medication (compounded phased out)
    Tirzepatide:
    $149/mo membership + $349+/mo brand medication
    States:
    All 50 states
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  14. #14

    WeightWatchers Clinic

    The one program on this masthead that treats menopause and the postpartum year as clinical facts rather than marketing, wrapped around brand-name pens and an insurance coordinator who makes the calls. Then it sells you a year you cannot leave.

    Semaglutide:
    Wegovy — cost set by your insurance
    Tirzepatide:
    Zepbound — cost set by your insurance
    States:
    Not disclosed
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  15. #15

    Hims & Hers

    ⛔ FDA warning letters dated 9 September 2025, over the compounded-semaglutide business it has since left behind. Through the Hers front door, a mass-market brand now selling FDA-approved brand-name GLP-1s — Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic — instead of the compounded semaglutide it used to. The posted price is only half the bill: a required $149/mo membership sits on top of whatever the medication costs, so the real monthly number is roughly double what the landing page shows.

    Semaglutide:
    $149/mo Wegovy Pill + $149/mo membership (~$298/mo all-in)
    Tirzepatide:
    $299/mo Zepbound + $149/mo membership (~$448/mo all-in)
    States:
    All 50 states
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  16. #16

    Mochi Health

    The rare compounded program that names its doctors and puts a real 30-minute video visit in front of the prescription — and then prices itself in two pieces, so the $99 on the front page is a little over half what leaves your account.

    Semaglutide:
    $178/mo all-in
    Tirzepatide:
    $278/mo all-in
    States:
    All 50 states
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  17. #17

    OnlyRx

    One of the only programs on this roster offering both molecules as an injection AND a needle-free oral tablet, in all 50 states — but its $179/mo semaglutide headline is a stated summer promo, not a locked-in rate, and its "15-22% weight loss" claim is self-reported customer data, not a clinical trial.

    Semaglutide:
    $179/mo
    Tirzepatide:
    $249/mo
    States:
    All 50 states
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  18. #18

    Nurx

    The women's-health platform a lot of mothers already have an account with, extended to weight management — and priced as care rather than medication. The $79-plus-$79 is honest and modest; the four-figure retail pen it does not include is not.

    Semaglutide:
    Not disclosed
    Tirzepatide:
    Not disclosed
    States:
    Not disclosed — 'not offered in every state'
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  19. #19

    The Virtual NP

    A nurse-practitioner-led, brand-only clinic — Wegovy or Zepbound "from Eli Lilly or Novo Nordisk," never compounded — with a $75/mo membership or a $99 pay-as-you-go alternative and HSA/FSA accepted, though the medication cost itself is billed separately and varies by pharmacy, and coverage is a small seven-state footprint in the South and Southwest.

    Semaglutide:
    $75/mo
    Tirzepatide:
    $75/mo
    States:
    TX, FL, NY, AZ, NV, NM, KS
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  20. #20

    Amazon One Medical

    A major, highly recognizable brand — Amazon's own One Medical plus Amazon Pharmacy channel — offering FDA-approved Wegovy from $149/mo with a manufacturer coupon, plus the new oral Foundayo pill, though the $149 price depends on coupon eligibility.

    Semaglutide:
    $149/mo starting dose with manufacturer coupon (Wegovy), $1,348.80/mo retail without it
    Tirzepatide:
    Zepbound offered per the site's own FAQ — exact starting price not itemized on the page checked
    States:
    All 50 states
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  21. #21

    AskRx

    For a family trying to budget, AskRx does something almost nobody else on this page does: it separates the two things you are paying for and shows you both. Its care fee is $90 a month for the physician visit plus $10 a month fulfillment — $100 total, stated in its own footnote — and the medication is billed separately, dispensed through AskRx's own pharmacy and, per the site, 'at cost, never a markup'. Compare that with a single blended monthly figure, where the medication margin is real but invisible, and the transparency is genuinely worth something. It prescribes FDA-approved products only and says so plainly — 'No compounded meds' — which means the Wegovy pen, the Wegovy pill, Zepbound as a pen or KwikPen, and Foundayo, the newer oral tirzepatide. Two honest caveats for a family spreadsheet. The $100 is a floor, not a total: no medication price is published anywhere, so what you actually pay each month depends on the drug and on your coverage. And this is not comparable to the $79-$149 compounded memberships elsewhere on this page — those are compounded formulations, these are the manufacturer's finished products, and the gap in price reflects a real difference in what arrives.

    Semaglutide:
    $100/mo care fee (Wegovy billed separately, at cost)
    Tirzepatide:
    $100/mo care fee (Zepbound/Foundayo billed separately, at cost)
    States:
    All 50 states
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  22. #22

    Florida Weight Loss MD

    A real surgical practice rather than a telehealth brand: a Hollywood, Florida bariatric center with a named surgeon doing sleeves and bypasses alongside the injections. Semaglutide is $69 a week or $179 a month; tirzepatide starts at $279. Two things need care. The package labels overstate their own length — "2.5-Month (10 Weeks)" is 2.3 months and "5-Month (20 Weeks)" is 4.6 — and the practice markets retatrutide, a drug not approved anywhere for anything.

    Semaglutide:
    $179/mo for the monthly program
    Tirzepatide:
    From $279/mo
    States:
    A Florida surgical practice offering telehealth; no state list published
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  23. #23

    Wisp

    The women's-health brand a lot of mothers already trust, selling a GLP-1 with no needle in it — and that is precisely the catch. The $225 buys sublingual drops rather than the injection the evidence was built on, in 26 states rather than 50.

    Semaglutide:
    $225/mo
    Tirzepatide:
    Not disclosed
    States:
    26 states + DC for Weight Care
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  24. #24

    NovoCare Pharmacy

    The manufacturer's own channel for brand Wegovy — $149/mo self-pay or as low as $25/mo with commercial insurance — but it requires your own existing prescription and offers no tirzepatide, since that's a different company's drug.

    Semaglutide:
    $149/mo self-pay (Wegovy), $25/mo with commercial insurance
    Tirzepatide:
    Not offered — Novo Nordisk does not manufacture tirzepatide
    States:
    All 50 states
    Brand-name:
    Yes
  25. #25

    GOAL.MD

    A named, checkable physician (Dr. Michael Mimlitz, MD) backs a $199/mo semaglutide, $299/mo tirzepatide standard rate — the ads lead with a $50-off first month, but the real ongoing number sits right on the same page.

    Semaglutide:
    $199/mo
    Tirzepatide:
    $299/mo
    States:
    Nationwide, per its own site
    Brand-name:
    Yes

At a glance

#ProviderSemaglutideTirzepatideStatesEditors' Rating
1Sesame$149/mo (brand)Not disclosedAll 50 states81 · B−
2Pallas Health$199/mo$299/moAll 50 states + D.C. (async in 43)78 · C
3Found$299/mo$299/moNot disclosed — no published state list76 · C
4Gala Health$179/mo$179/moAll 50 states (as advertised)82 · B−
5RxSpan MD$249/mo$329/moAll 50 states (as advertised)69 · C
6Luvo Health$249/mo$339/mo50 states (as advertised)73 · C
7Allara HealthWegovy or Ozempic — cost set by your insuranceZepbound or Mounjaro — cost set by your insurance45 states + DC (nutrition-only in 5 more)83 · B
8Form Health$299/mo self-pay membership (medication billed separately)$299/mo self-pay membership (medication billed separately)Multi-state81 · B−
99amHealth$149/mo (or free with insurance)$149/mo (or free with insurance)Not disclosed — no published state list76 · C
10Ro$39 first mo, then $74–149/mo membership + medication billed separately$39 first mo, then $74–149/mo membership + medication billed separatelyMulti-state80 · B−
11Calibrate$199/mo membership (3-mo minimum) + ~$25/mo medication copay after insurance$199/mo membership (3-mo minimum) + ~$25/mo medication copay after insuranceMulti-state79 · C
12Rivas Medical Weight Loss$500/mo — $115 a week, all-inclusive with a weekly in-person visit$717/mo — $165 a week on the same termsFifteen locations across Maryland and Virginia53 · C
13LifeMD$149/mo membership + $199+/mo brand medication (compounded phased out)$149/mo membership + $349+/mo brand medicationAll 50 states80 · B−
14WeightWatchers ClinicWegovy — cost set by your insuranceZepbound — cost set by your insuranceNot disclosed77 · C
15Hims & Hers$149/mo Wegovy Pill + $149/mo membership (~$298/mo all-in)$299/mo Zepbound + $149/mo membership (~$448/mo all-in)All 50 states76 · C
16Mochi Health$178/mo all-in$278/mo all-inAll 50 states77 · C
17OnlyRx$179/mo$249/moAll 50 states70 · C
18NurxNot disclosedNot disclosedNot disclosed — 'not offered in every state'70 · C
19The Virtual NP$75/mo$75/moTX, FL, NY, AZ, NV, NM, KS69 · C
20Amazon One Medical$149/mo starting dose with manufacturer coupon (Wegovy), $1,348.80/mo retail without itZepbound offered per the site's own FAQ — exact starting price not itemized on the page checkedAll 50 states55 · C
21AskRx$100/mo care fee (Wegovy billed separately, at cost)$100/mo care fee (Zepbound/Foundayo billed separately, at cost)All 50 states70 · C
22Florida Weight Loss MD$179/mo for the monthly programFrom $279/moA Florida surgical practice offering telehealth; no state list published58 · C
23Wisp$225/moNot disclosed26 states + DC for Weight Care66 · C
24NovoCare Pharmacy$149/mo self-pay (Wegovy), $25/mo with commercial insuranceNot offered — Novo Nordisk does not manufacture tirzepatideAll 50 states62 · C
25GOAL.MD$199/mo$299/moNationwide, per its own site58 · C

Answered

How long after giving birth can you start a GLP-1?
There is no approved postpartum start date, and any provider who gives you a confident number is going beyond the evidence. What is settled: GLP-1s are not for use in pregnancy or while trying to conceive, and the drug should be cleared from your system well before a next pregnancy — tirzepatide additionally carries a contraception instruction semaglutide does not. What is not settled is breastfeeding, where the human data is thin rather than reassuring. This is a conversation for a clinician who knows your delivery, your feeding plans and your history, which is why this board ranks on clinical oversight rather than on price.
Can you take a GLP-1 while breastfeeding?
The honest answer is that nobody can tell you with confidence. The manufacturers advise against it, the human data is limited, and what exists studies the FDA-approved products rather than compounded versions — which is one reason this board is restricted to providers that can prescribe brand-name medication with its own lactation labeling. A compounded vial has no such document. Decide it with a clinician, not with a board, and treat anyone selling certainty here as selling.
Why does this board only rank brand-name providers?
Because the labeling is the point. Wegovy, Zepbound, Ozempic and Mounjaro carry the manufacturer's own pregnancy and lactation sections — a document your OB can read. Compounded semaglutide, whatever its price advantage elsewhere on this masthead, has no equivalent. Of the 310 providers we score, 25 both offer FDA-approved medication and clear our clinical-oversight bar, and those are the ones ranked here.
Does a GLP-1 affect milk supply?
It is not established either way, and that uncertainty is itself worth knowing. The mechanism gives reason for caution — these drugs work partly by reducing intake, and lactation has real caloric demands — but that is a mechanism argument, not a finding, and we label it as such rather than dressing it up. If you are nursing and considering starting, supply is a question to raise explicitly, because a provider who has not thought about it will not raise it for you.
What should I ask a provider before starting postpartum?
Four things, and the answers tell you most of what you need: how long after delivery they will prescribe and why that interval; whether they prescribe the FDA-approved product or a compounded version, and what labeling exists for it; whether you will speak to a clinician who reads your delivery history, or complete an async form; and what happens to the price and the plan if you stop. A provider that answers all four plainly is the kind this board is built to find.

Read what to tell your OB before starting and the one breastfeeding study two sides both claim. If insulin resistance or the midlife shift is the driver rather than a recent birth, the PCOS and menopause board is scored for that instead. Nothing here is medical advice, and no board can replace a clinician who knows your delivery and your feeding plans.