Head-to-head for moms
CoreAge Rx vs PlushCare
CoreAge Rx and PlushCare don't publish comparable month-to-month prices for the same medication, so the choice turns on how each one works. Choose CoreAge Rx if you want semaglutide; choose PlushCare if you want brand-name medication. The details, from each provider's own published prices and terms, are below.
CoreAge Rx
Higher scoreEditors' Rating 94/100 · Grade A
Best for: Mothers who want to know the real monthly cost before the free trial talks them into it — one flat price on semaglutide or tirzepatide, everywhere in the country, with no lock-in.
Visit CoreAge RxPlushCare
Editors' Rating 66/100 · Grade C
Best for: An insured mother who wants brand-name medication through her own plan, with a doctor who orders labs and fights the prior authorization for her.
Visit PlushCareThe verdict
CoreAge Rx edges out PlushCare on the Editors' Rating, 94 to 66 (A vs C). Mothers who want to know the real monthly cost before the free trial talks them into it — one flat price on semaglutide or tirzepatide, everywhere in the country, with no lock-in.
PlushCare is still a genuine option — plushCare is an online primary-care practice rather than a weight-loss storefront: a physician orders labs, prescribes brand-name GLP-1s such as Wegovy or Zepbound if you qualify, sends the prescription to your own pharmacy and handles the insurance prior authorization. The visit is your copay — under $30 for most insured patients — or $129 without insurance, and a $19.99 monthly membership covers you and up to five family members. What it cannot tell you is the price of the medication, because your pharmacy and insurer set it. Weigh the six factors below against your own priorities.
Side-by-side on the six factors
Each side's six factor scores from our women's-health rubric; the higher side on each factor is marked. See the methodology.
What CoreAge Rx and PlushCare cost
On semaglutide, CoreAge Rx charges $99 a month at every dose. PlushCare doesn't list semaglutide at all, so for this medication CoreAge Rx is the only one of the two.
On tirzepatide, CoreAge Rx charges $149 a month at every dose. PlushCare doesn't list tirzepatide at all, so for this medication CoreAge Rx is the only one of the two.
Only PlushCare offers brand-name medication; CoreAge Rx sticks to compounded versions.
| Detail | CoreAge Rx | PlushCare | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Semaglutide, first dose | $99 | Not offered | — |
| Tirzepatide, first dose | $149 | Not offered | — |
| Brand-name medication | No | Yes | — |
| Included in the price | Clinician consult, medication and shipping | Not stated | — |
| Price shown | Before intake | Not recorded | — |
| Live video visit | Not required | Not recorded | — |
| Oral option | No | No | — |
| Where it serves | All 50 states | All 50 states + DC | — |
| Editors' Rating | 94/100 | 66/100 | CoreAge Rx +28 |
What the price covers
CoreAge Rx's price includes the clinician consult, the medication and shipping. PlushCare doesn't list anything as included, and the clinician consult, the medication and lab work are billed or arranged separately. So the sticker prices cover different things: the clinician consult, the medication and shipping at CoreAge Rx but not, or not stated, at PlushCare. Add the missing pieces before you compare totals.
Where they serve and how signup works
Where they serve: CoreAge Rx, all 50 states; PlushCare, all 50 states + DC.
CoreAge Rx shows its price before the health questions; for PlushCare, use the price above and confirm it at checkout. CoreAge Rx starts with an online questionnaire, no live video visit.
CoreAge Rx or PlushCare: who each one fits
Choose CoreAge Rx if…
- You want semaglutide, which PlushCare doesn't list.
- You want tirzepatide, which PlushCare doesn't list.
- You are happy with compounded medication and want CoreAge Rx's posted price rather than PlushCare's brand-name route.
- You want the clinician consult, the medication and shipping included in the price, which PlushCare doesn't state.
- You go by our Editors' Rating: 94/100 against PlushCare's 66.
Choose PlushCare if…
- You want brand-name medication, which CoreAge Rx doesn't offer.
CoreAge Rx
Editors' Rating 94/100 · Grade A
What we like
- Flat all-in price that doesn't step up after month one — the number you sign for is the number at the full dose
- Both compounded semaglutide and tirzepatide on a single account, so a molecule switch never resets the budget
- Licensed in all 50 states — care survives a move, a deployment, or a summer at the grandparents'
The caveats
- Not the rock-bottom sticker price — a bare teaser tier elsewhere can look cheaper for exactly one month
- Compounded only; no FDA-approved brand Wegovy or Zepbound if that is what you and your clinician want
- A general metabolic program, not a dedicated women's or maternal-health clinic
PlushCare
Editors' Rating 66/100 · Grade C
What we like
- Accepts more than 65 insurance plans, with most insured visits under $30
- Its care team handles prior authorizations for GLP-1s
- Labs ordered before prescribing, including A1C and thyroid
The caveats
- Not for anyone who gave birth in the past six months, per its own weight-loss eligibility rules
- The medication's cost is not itemized — it depends entirely on your insurance and pharmacy
- No compounded option, so uninsured patients face full brand-name prices
CoreAge Rx vs PlushCare: quick answers
Is CoreAge Rx cheaper than PlushCare?
We can't put CoreAge Rx and PlushCare side by side on one price: they don't both publish a month-to-month rate for the same medication. Ask each for the full monthly total at your dose before deciding.
Do CoreAge Rx and PlushCare both offer tirzepatide?
Only CoreAge Rx lists tirzepatide; PlushCare offers a different medication.
Do I need a video visit with CoreAge Rx or PlushCare?
CoreAge Rx starts with an online questionnaire instead. Ask PlushCare at signup whether it needs one. Either way, a licensed clinician reviews your health history before anything is prescribed.
Do CoreAge Rx and PlushCare serve every state?
CoreAge Rx lists all 50 states. PlushCare lists all 50 states + DC. Both say they cover all 50, so where you live won't decide this one.
We may earn a referral fee if you sign up through a link on this page, at no extra cost to you. CoreAge Rx is a featured partner, and providers we work with may appear first. Scores are our own. Pricing, states and signup details reflect each provider's own published terms; the Editors' Rating is our editorial judgment per the methodology. Prices change — confirm on each provider's site. Not medical advice; see our disclosure.
More head-to-heads
Keep comparing CoreAge Rx and PlushCare against other providers we review for mothers.
Or browse the full comparison hub.